The 18th adjourned annual general meeting of the Council for Leather Exports was held on February 1, 2003, at Hotel Le Royal Meridian, Chennai, when the committee of administration (COA) was reconstituted.

Earlier the entire election process to the regional committees was initiated and monitored by Ms Malini Shanker, joint development commissioner, Madras Export Processing Zone, who had been notified as Election Authority for this purpose by the Union Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

Following the annual general meeting, the first meeting of the reconstituted COA was convened during which a new chairman and vice-chairman to the Council were elected.

Srinivasan Sampath Kumar was elected as chairman and Mukhtarul Amin as vice-chairman of the Council for Leather Exports. They will hold office in the respective positions for two years.

The following are the regional chairmen elected after the reconstitution of the regional committees:

Imthiaz Pasha (south)

Sanjay Leekha (north)

Rakesh Suri (central)

S S Kumar (east)

H R Malik (west)