In June 2012, the Danish proposal to ban four phthalates in consumer products was turned down by the European Chemicals Agency’s (ECHA). Denmark has since decided to proceed with the national prohibition of the four phthalates DEHP, DBP, BBP and DIBP in consumer products. Denmark would like to implement this by autumn 2012.

In the Danish proposal, DEHP (bis (2-ethylhexyl) phthalate), BBP (benzylbutyl phthalate), DBP (dibutyl phthalate) and DIBP (Diisobutyl phthalate) are restricted in products for indoor use and products that may come into direct contact with the skin or mucous membranes. The proposed limit for each of the four phthalates is no more than 0.1% in any plasticised material.

The overview below summarises the March 2012 proposal when it was introduced for inclusion in the REACH Regulation. It is yet unclear whether there will be any changes to the final version of the national Danish legislation.

By implementing this ban, Denmark may risk legal action from the European Union over the ban of the four phthalates. However, according to the Danish Environment Minister Ida Auken, Denmark has enough supporting evidences to win the case.

Throughout the global network of laboratories, SGS is able to provide a range of services, including analytical testing and consultancy for restricted substances for the EU and international markets.

Contact experts at SGS for further information.