A number of awards were presented at The Society of Leather Technologists and Chemists annual conference which was held at the Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport, UK on September 23. Following his two-year term, Ken Nokes stood down as SLTC president and John Avery was inaugurated. Roy Thompson, Raymond Blakey, E Malcolm Pickles were all awarded Life Membership. Martin Richard Elliott was awarded the professional grade of Fellow and Bob Johnson became an honorary life member following his continued work for the society. Professional grades of Associate were awarded to Richard Lector Magombo, Andrew David Luke, Matthew Nicholls, Arthur Steven Onyuka and Simon Philips. Former president Richard J Roy also received a certificate and Professor Mike Redwood was presented with a certificate for giving the Wolstenholme Memorial Lecture during the conference.