China to exempt tariffs for worlds poorest countries

13 July 2010

China's Ministry of Finance said on June 23 that the country would grant zero tariff status to 4,762 categories of commodities now imported from 33 of the world's least developed countries beginning July 1. The status includes leather products.

The countries include 26 African countries and seven from other regions. These include Ethiopia, Benin, Burundi, Guinea Ecuatorial, Maldives, Nepal and Bangladesh. Imports to China, including aquatic products, textiles, farm produce, leather products, glass products, steel, minerals, etc. from these 33 countries, are to be exempted from tariffs.

Since 2001, China has put 41 of the world's least developed countries on its zero-tariffs list.

Source: CLIA

Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.